

Single Use Plastic Working Group Meeting 5

Communiqué

The fifth meeting of the Single Use Plastic Working Group was held on Tuesday 14 September 2021.

Attendees:

In person

Michelle Andrews (Chair) Director General, Department of Water and Environmental Regulation (DWER)

Melissa Benson (proxy) Business Support Pharmacist, Pharmacy Guild of Australia

Brendan Cullinan Executive Director, People with Disabilities (WA) Inc

Julie Waylen State Manager, WA, National Disability Services

Neil Keen Director, Department of Health

Bronwynn Comerford Individualised Services Program Manager, Department of Communities

Online

Esme Bowen Chair, Carers Advisory Council WA

Christine Allen Chief Executive Officer, Council on the Ageing WA

Leticia Grant Senior Advocate, Developmental Disability WA

Rebecca Prince-Ruiz Executive Director, Plastic Free Foundation

Kate Noble (proxy) No Plastics in Nature Policy Manager, WWF Australia

Peter Brisbane Government Partnership Manager, Australian Packaging Covenant Organisation Ltd.

Jason Robertson Director Sustainability, Australian Retailers Association

Rebecca Brown Manager Waste and Recycling, WA Local Government Association

Dr Tony Ryan Physician, Australian Medical Association (WA) Inc

Ebony Johnson (proxy) Project Manager, Policy, National Retail Association

Hugo Robinson (proxy) Manager – Policy and Government, Restaurant and Catering Association of Australia Inc

Mark Paladino (proxy) Trade Marketing and Business Development, Master Grocers Association

Apologies

Janet Wagland General Manager Community, Brightwater

Bradley Woods Chief Executive Officer, Australian Hotels Association WA

Ross Anile Director, Master Grocers Association Board

Lesley Nelson Chief Executive Officer, South West Aboriginal Medical Service

Michael Andrew (proxy) Membership Manager, Australian Hotels Association WA

Jos De Bruin Chief Executive Officer, Master Grocers Association

Tom Green Manager Policy and Government, Restaurant and Catering Association of Australia Inc

Observers

David Stout Director, Policy, National Retail Association

Sophie Keay Project Officer, Building the Talent Pool WA, National Disability Services

DWER Support

Sarah McEvoy Executive Director Strategic Policy

Daniel Nevin Director Strategic Policy

Chris Ryan Senior Manager Programs

Peter Musk Manager Programs

Joanne O'Connor (online) Senior Environmental Officer

Bryce Pitts-Hill Senior Program Officer

Amanda Thomas Senior Policy Officer

Invited guests

Andrew Huffer Director and Principal Consultant, Andrew Huffer and Associates

Meeting summary

At the fifth meeting:

• The Chair opened the fifth Single Use Plastic Working Group meeting and welcomed members.

Members were advised that this would be Julie Waylen's last meeting, however the National

Disability Service would remain as a member organisation.

The minutes and communiqué from meeting four were endorsed.

The Chair advised members that over the past few months from July to September 2021, the

Department of Water and Environmental Regulation conducted 13 information and feedback

sessions in person and online at various locations throughout the State. These sessions sought

feedback from a range of sectors to identify the barriers, concerns and support needs of

attendees. Feedback was presented and discussed with members.

Members workshopped potential solutions to the barriers and concerns identified during the

information and feedback sessions for their sector.

Members were asked to respond to out of session feedback requests.

The next meeting is scheduled for 9 November 2021.

Secretariat

Telephone: 08 6364 7000

Email: plastic-action@dwer.wa.gov.au

2