Single-Use Plastic Working Group

Single Use Plastic Working Group Meeting 4

Communiqué

The Plastic Straws Working Group was transitioned to a Single Use Plastic Working Group and the fourth meeting was held on Tuesday 13 July 2021.

Attendees:

In person

Michelle Andrews (Chair)	Director General, Department of Water and Environmental Regulation (DWER)
Melissa Benson (proxy)	Business Support Pharmacist, Pharmacy Guild of Australia
Brendan Cullinan	Executive Director, People with Disabilities (WA) Inc
<u>Online</u>	
Victoria Jackson (proxy)	Membership Manager, Australian Hotels Association WA
Esme Bowen	Chair, Carers Advisory Council WA
Christine Allen	Chief Executive Officer, Council on the Ageing WA
Mark Petrich (proxy)	Acting Principal Allied Health Advisor, Department of Health
Leticia Grant	Senior Advocate, Developmental Disability WA
David Stout	Director, Policy, National Retail Association
Rebecca Prince-Ruiz	Executive Director, Plastic Free Foundation
Kate Noble (proxy)	No Plastics in Nature Policy Manager, WWF Australia
Janet Wagland	General Manager Community, Brightwater
Bronwynn Comerford	Individualised Services Program Manager, Department of Communities
Sophie Keay (proxy)	Project Officer, Building the Talent Pool WA, National Disability Services
Peter Brisbane	Government Partnership Manager, Australian Packaging Covenant Organisation Ltd.
Jason Robertson	Director Sustainability, Australian Retailers Association
Tom Green	Manager Policy and Government, Restaurant and Catering Association of Australia Inc
Jos De Bruin	Chief Executive Officer, Master Grocers Association
Rebecca Brown	Manager Waste and Recycling, WA Local Government Association
<u>Apologies</u>	
Matthew Tweedie	Director, Pharmacy Guild of Australia
Dr Tony Ryan	Physician, Australian Medical Association (WA) Inc
Bradley Woods	Chief Executive Officer, Australian Hotels Association WA
David McCallum	Acting Principal Allied Health Advisor, Department of Health
Katinka Day	No Plastics in Nature Policy Manager, WWF
Ross Anile	Director, Master Grocers Association Board
Lesley Nelson	Chief Executive Officer, South West Aboriginal Medical Service

Observers

Ebony Johnson	Project Manager, Policy, National Retail Association
DWER Support	
Sarah McEvoy	Executive Director Strategic Policy
Iqbal Samnakay (online)	Strategy Manager
Chris Ryan	Senior Manager Programs
Joanne O'Connor	Acting Manager Programs
Bryce Pitts-Hill	Senior Program Officer
Amanda Thomas	Senior Policy Officer

Meeting summary

At the fourth meeting:

- The Chair opened the fourth Single Use Plastic Working Group meeting.
- The Chair welcomed new members from the Australian Packaging Covenant Organisation, Australian Retailers Association, Master Grocers Association, Restaurant and Catering Industry Association of Australia and WA Local Government Association.
- Members approved the agenda and no further items were added.
- The minutes and communiqué from meeting three were endorsed.
- Members provided comment and endorsed a revised Terms of Reference and Code of Conduct.
- The working group received a presentation on the fast-tracked WA Plan for Plastics.
- The working group received a presentation for upcoming key stakeholder information sessions in July and August 2021. The sessions will:
 - o be coordinated by the Department of Water and Environmental Regulation;
 - include seven sessions in regional Western Australia, three sessions in the Perth metropolitan, and two online sessions. Following feedback from members an additional online session was added; and
 - provide an opportunity to seek feedback on Stage 1 of the Plan for Plastics regulations, including identifying issues, concerns and support needs. Members were requested to attend a session and promote the workshops through their networks.
- The working group provided feedback out of session on the draft plastic straw ban exemptions developed at meeting three. Feedback and comments were discussed, with members endorsing the draft exemptions.

The next meeting is scheduled for 14 September 2021.

Secretariat

Telephone: 08 6364 7000

Email: plastic-action@dwer.wa.gov.au